Now that Estonia is in the European Union, EU citizens can enter Estonia with just a national ID card. All others need valid passports. You can enter Estonia visa-free and stay 90 days if you’re a citizen of any EU country, Norway, Iceland, Switzerland, Canada, USA, Australia and New Zealand, Israel, Argentina and a number of other countries listed on the website below. All others, including South Africans, Russians, Byelorussians and Ukrainians do need a visa to come to Estonia. South Africans may enter Estonia if they hold a visa for Latvia or Lithuania. Anyone staying in Estonia for more than 90 days (180 days for UK citizens) needs either a residence permit or a visa, though there are certain very specific exceptions for EU citizens. For all the details, contact the consular department of the Foreign Ministry, tel. 631 74 40, or check their website,

This download is free, but we would like you to leave us your
email address so that we can keep in touch with you about new In Your Pocket guides.