Riga

Sightseeing

Riga Cathedral (Doma baznīca)

The largest place of worship in the Baltics, measuring 187 x 43m, with walls two metres thick, Riga Cathedral also has one of the biggest organs in Europe (6,768 pipes!). It was such a marvel in its day that Franz Liszt composed a piece of music in its honour. The drop from Cathedral Square (Doma laukums) to the church's base shows how the level of the city has risen in the 800 years since its foundations were laid on the site of a Livonian fishing village. Although currently undergoing renovations, it’s still open to the public. Opening hours for the upcoming week are listed next to the entrance. The price of the ticket also includes access to its Romanesque cloister and the cathedral offers extended opening hours in July.

Map

Amenities

Credit Cards

Website

Open

Open 10:00-17:00.

Price/Additional Info

Admission: €3.

Events at this venue

Sunday May 29 2016Ilze Barlo organ cocnert Wednesday Jun 1 2016Elzbieta Karolak Friday Jun 3 2016Organ music concert Saturday Jun 4 2016Organ music concert Sunday Jun 5 2016Organ music concert Wednesday Jun 8 2016Organ music concert Friday Jun 10 2016Romualds Jermaks Jubilee Concert Sunday Jun 12 2016Religious music concert Tuesday Jun 14 2016Dona Eis Requiem Wednesday Jun 15 2016A Look From the Mother of God Friday Jun 17 2016Organ music concert Sunday Jun 19 2016Religious music concert Tuesday Jun 21 2016Laudate Dominum Wednesday Jun 22 2016Veni Creator Sunday Jun 26 2016Organ music concert Wednesday Jun 29 2016Organ music concert Thursday Jul 7 2016Early Music Festival. The Latvian Radio Choir and Peter Philips

Comments

Connect via social media
Leave a comment using your email
Please enter your name*

Please share your location

Enter your message*
Take your guide with you download a pdf or order a printed issue
browse through our pdf library