Around Olomouc a massive fortification system, the so-called „ Crown Fort ", was built in the mid 19th century. The plan was to complete it by a group of advanced forts called the "fest" in the total number of three. The Fest Holy Hill (Sv. Kopeček) had to have four forts (Toveř No. 1, Radíkov No. 2, Lošov No. 3, Droždín No. 4) and two artillery batteries. Out of them only Radíkov No.2 was constructed. The construction began in 1871 as part of the "Imperial Royal Olomouc Fortress” (Kaiser Königliche Olomüzer Festung - K.K.O.F.) based on drawings by Karel von Pech.
The fort was fighting-fit after three years, but it wasn’t fully completed until 1882. As for the construction of the building itself, it is a one-escarpment artillery fort. This fortification building is very valuable and unique from an architectural and historical point of view and it is the only fort of such a kind in the Czech Republic. The stronghold also included a military hospital built in Radíkov at the end of what is now Zedníková Street, and two army wells dug in 1875 in Samotíšky that are still functional. A peace-time Powder House with a guardhouse was built for the fort in the fields between Samotíšky and Chválkovice.