Bucharest

Sightseeing

Sala Palatului

The rather startling Sala Palatului, with its amazing concaved roof, was designed by Tiberiu Ricci (also responsible for the TVR building) and built over 15 months from January 1959 to April 1960 as an extension of the Royal Palace (to which it is connected). The massive main auditorium, which seats 4,000, was originally used to host the five-yearly congress of the Romanian Communist Party. It today plays host to exhibitions and concerts. To make way for the building, and for the apartment blocks opposite, a 17th century church was demolished: the first of many to fall victim during the communist era remodelling of central Bucharest.

Map

Website

Open

Ticket office open 10.00-18.00. Closed Sat, Sun.

Events at this venue

Wednesday Jan 17 2018Mariza Wednesday Feb 14 2018Holograf Sunday Feb 18 2018Teo, Vio si Costel Friday Feb 23 2018 [...] Andra Monday Feb 26 2018Carlos Marin Wednesday Feb 28 2018Caro Emerald Tuesday Mar 6 2018Swan Lake Thursday Mar 8 2018Richard Clayderman Sunday Mar 11 2018Star Wars - A New Hope Friday Mar 16 2018Nikos Vertis Wednesday Mar 21 2018Tudor Gheorghe Monday Mar 26 2018Russian Cossack State Dance Company Thursday Mar 29 2018Lara Fabian Friday Mar 30 2018Cargo

Comments

Connect via social media
Leave a comment using your email This e-mail address is not valid
Please enter your name*

Please share your location

Enter your message*
Take your guide with you Download a pdf Browse our collection of guides
Put our app in your pocket
Top
City Essentials

Download our new City Essentials app

download 4.5