Dáil Eireann

  Leinster House, Kildare St, Dublin 2      (+353)(0)1 618 3781     more than a year ago
Originally built in 1745 for the Duke of Leinster, this stately Georgian mansion is now home to the National Parliament of Ireland. Its design is said to have inspired that of the White House - itself designed by an Irish architect. The Royal Dublin Society bought the building in 1815 and added a lecture theatre - now the Dáil chamber. The Republic of Ireland's first government acquired part of the building in 1922, and the remainder two years' later. There are two houses of the Oireachtas (National Parliament). Dáil Eireann is the House of Representatives and its TDs (Teachtaí Dála) or Assembly Delegates are elected by the public. Seanad Éireann is The Senate and its 60 representatives are either nominated or elected. Tours take between 25 -30mins, and when the House is in session it may also be possible to sit for a short period of time in the Public Gallery. People wishing to tour the Houses of the Oireachtas need to be sponsored by a Member/Embassy. Either contact your local TD or your Embassy or Honorary Consular Representative who will contact the Events Desk on your behalf to make the necessary appointment.


City centre location


Luas St Stephen's Green


Group tours by prior arrangement: Tues-Thurs

Price/Additional Info

Free - but you must be sponsored by your embassy or an Irish TD.


Connect via social media
google sign in button
Leave a comment using your email This e-mail address is not valid
Please enter your name*

Please share your location

Enter your message*
Put our app in your pocket
This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here. AGREE