Finding your way around Dublin

more than a year ago
Unlike most European countries, Ireland has no postcodes as such. However, Dublin does have postal districts numbered D1 - D24.  Keep your eyes on street signs and use our handy map (p.64 of the print guide), and you'll soon be navigating like a native.

Another way of traversing the city with ease is to use the River Liffey as your divide. Everywhere north of the Liffey is referred to as the Northside and all the postal numbers are uneven. Cross over the River Liffey and you’ve arrived in the Southside where all postal numbers are even. Hence, simply by where you live, you are either a Northsider or a Southsider.

Dublin 1 and 7 is the North City Centre and Dublin 2 and 8 is the South City Centre. These are the four main districts you're likely to visit. As Dublin is quite a small city, you can still get to most places on foot so don’t be deterred; although Dublin 6 and Dublin 3 look a long way out of the city centre, they're really only about a 10min walk away.

The only exception to this rule is The Phoenix Park whose official address is Dublin 8, even though it's on the Northside. Also, Dubliners rarely refer to places as being in Dublin 2 or Dublin 1, instead writing D2 or D1.

Once you get to the suburbs, parts of Dublin are referred to as Co. Dublin. Below is a list of all the Dublin city codes and most of the districts they represent.

Dublin 2:
Baggot St Upr and Lwr, College Green, Fitzwilliam Sq, Harcourt St, Kildare St, Lord Edward St, Merrion Sq, Mount Street Upp, and Lwr, Nassau St, Pearse St, St. Stephen's Green, Sth Great Georges St, Leeson Street Upr and Lwr

Dublin 4: Ballsbridge, Donnybrook, Irishtown, Merrion, Pembroke, Ringsend, Sandymount
Dublin 6: Dartry, Ranelagh, Rathmines, Rathgar, Sandyford

Dublin 6W: Harold's Cross, Templeogue, Terenure

Dublin 8: Dolphin's Barn, Inchicore, Island Bridge, Kilmainham, Merchants Quay, Portobello, South Circular Rd, The Coombe

Dublin 10: Ballyfermot

Dublin 12: Bluebell, Crumlin, Drimnagh, Walkinstown

Dublin 1:
Abbey St, Amiens St, Capel St ,Dorset St ,Henry St, Mountjoy Sq, Marlboro St North Wall, O'Connell St, Parnell Sq, Talbot St 

Dublin 3:
Ballybough, Cloniffe, Clontarf, Dollymount, East Wall, Fairview, Marino 

Dublin 7: Arbout Hill, Cabra, Phibsboro, Four Courts 

Dublin 9: Beaumont, Drumcondra, Ekm Mont, Griffith Avenue, Santry, Whitehall 

Dublin 11: Ballygal, Cappagh, Cremore, Dubber, Finglas, Jamestown, Kilshane, Wadelai 

Dublin 13: Baily, Baldoyle, Bayside, Donaghmede, Sutton, Howth 

Dublin 15: Blanchardstown, Castleknock, Clonee, Clonsilla, Corduff, Mulhuddart 

Dublin 17: Belcamp, Balgrifin, Clonshaugh, Priorswood, Darndale, Riverside
Read more


Connect via social media
google sign in button
Leave a comment using your email This e-mail address is not valid
Please enter your name*

Please share your location

Enter your message*
This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here. AGREE