Kaunas’ original 13th-century castle was the country's first defensive bastion and the only double-walled fortress in Lithuania. The current structure dates from around 1368, although much of it’s been destroyed and much has been added over the centuries. Inside are several floors of exhibits, from the atmospheric dungeons to a few intriguing artefacts at the top of a long stone spiral staircase. Perhaps more interesting for the building itself rather than anything on display, good physical fitness is a prerequisite for any visit. The grounds, that host regular concerts and events throughout the summer, are free to explore.
City centre location
Open 10:00 - 18:00, Sat 10:00 - 17:00. Closed Sun, Mon.