Founded in 1893, this is one of Lviv’s oldest museums. Originally located in a chamber of City Hall, the contemporary museum is spread out among four unique architectural monuments dating from the 16th-18th centuries. The collection is composed of more than 330 thousand exhibits that offer fascinating snapshots into the lives of those who inhabited Lviv from ancient times up to the present. The main branch can be found at Rynok ploscha (Market Square) in the Kornjakt Palace. During the 17th Century the palace served as a royal roost for Jakub Sobieski, the father of Polish king Jan III, and Wladyslaw IV, the Polish conqueror who occupied Moscow and seized the Russian crown. The collection’s highlights include ancient furniture, pictures, silver ornaments and the Royal Chambers. The museum’s second and third branches are also located on the square in buildings 4 and 24. The fourth branch is located at the Arsenal on Pidval’na vul. 5 and is dedicated to the region’s history of weaponry. Excursions in English can be difficult to rustle up, but most of the exhibits speak for themselves.