Riga

Latvian National Opera & Ballet

  Aspazijas bulvāris 3      (+371) 67 07 37 77     04 Jan 2019
This spectacular edifice sandwiched between Old Riga and the Riga canal was erected in 1863, but was largely destroyed by a gas leak, which resulted in a devastating fire in 1882. Thankfully, the building was restored to architect Ludwig Bohnstedt’s original design and reopened five years later, but this time with a state-of-the-art technology called electricity. The new opera included the city’s very first electric power station, whose tall smoke stack is still visible today. The building and its unmistakable ionic columns were completely refurbished once again in the early 1990s and a new annex with 300 seats was added in 2001. You can take a public tour of the building in English once a month for €8 (see website for exact dates) or arrange a 45-minute group tour (minimum 10 people) at tel. (+371) 25 63 58 33 or education@opera.lv, but we recommend you simply take in a world-class ballet or opera performance here to fully experience its magnificence. The opera is also surrounded by beautiful gardens that include a fountain with a bronze statue.
  Show on map

Social Links:

Website

Events at this venue

Thursday May 23 18:30–20:30
Possible IX
Sunday Apr 14 18:30–20:30
Cantando y Amando
Friday May 24 19:00–22:00 …
Dialogues des Carmélites
Friday Apr 12 19:00–22:00 …
Hamlet. Tell Me (No) Tales
Friday May 10 19:00–22:00
The Rose of Turaida
Wednesday May 29 19:00–22:00
Giselle
Saturday Apr 27 19:00–22:00 …
Carmen
Friday Apr 26 19:00–22:00
Coppélia
Thursday Apr 18 19:00–22:00
The Three Musketeers
Wednesday Apr 17 19:00–22:00
Faust
Thursday May 2 19:00–22:00
Swan Lake
Saturday May 11 19:00–22:00
Sleeping Beauty
Wednesday Mar 27 19:00–22:00 …
La Bayadère
Sunday Apr 28 12:00–15:00, 18:00–21:00
The Blue Danube
Friday Mar 29 19:00–22:00 …
Antonija #Silmači
Saturday Apr 20 19:00–22:00
Nabucco
Wednesday May 8 19:00–22:00
Madame Butterfly
Thursday Apr 25 19:00–22:00
L’incantesimo. Pagliacci
Friday May 3 19:00–22:00
Don Pasquale
Sunday Apr 14 15:00–18:00
La Bohème
Saturday Mar 30 19:00–22:00
The Flying Dutchman
Monday Apr 1 19:00–21:00
Baltic Ballet Festival. Ballet Stars Gala concert
Thursday Mar 28 19:00–22:00
The Rake's Progress

Comments

Connect via social media
Leave a comment using your email This e-mail address is not valid
Please enter your name*

Please share your location

Enter your message*
Put our app in your pocket
Top
City Essentials

Download our new City Essentials app

download 4.5