Riga

Latvian National Opera & Ballet

  Aspazijas bulvāris 3      (+371) 67 07 37 77     04 Jan 2019
This spectacular edifice sandwiched between Old Riga and the Riga canal was erected in 1863, but was largely destroyed by a gas leak, which resulted in a devastating fire in 1882. Thankfully, the building was restored to architect Ludwig Bohnstedt’s original design and reopened five years later, but this time with a state-of-the-art technology called electricity. The new opera included the city’s very first electric power station, whose tall smoke stack is still visible today. The building and its unmistakable ionic columns were completely refurbished once again in the early 1990s and a new annex with 300 seats was added in 2001. You can take a public tour of the building in English once a month for €8 (see website for exact dates) or arrange a 45-minute group tour (minimum 10 people) at tel. (+371) 25 63 58 33 or education@opera.lv, but we recommend you simply take in a world-class ballet or opera performance here to fully experience its magnificence. The opera is also surrounded by beautiful gardens that include a fountain with a bronze statue.
  Show on map

Social Links:

Website

Events at this venue

Sunday May 26 19:00–22:00
La Bayadère
Sunday Jun 2 19:00–22:00
Antonija #Silmači
Saturday Jun 1 19:00–22:00
Turandot
Saturday Jun 8 19:00–22:00 …
The Flying Dutchman
Wednesday Jun 5 19:00–22:00 …
L’incantesimo. Pagliacci
Thursday Jun 6 19:00–22:00 …
Don Pasquale
Friday May 24 19:00–22:00 …
Dialogues des Carmélites
Friday May 31 19:00–22:00
Hamlet. Tell Me (No) Tales
Thursday May 30 19:00–22:00
Carmen
Wednesday May 29 19:00–22:00
Giselle
Wednesday Jun 5 - Sunday Jun 16
Riga Opera Festival

Comments

Connect via social media
google sign in button
Leave a comment using your email This e-mail address is not valid
Please enter your name*

Please share your location

Enter your message*
Put our app in your pocket
This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here. AGREE
Top