Riga

Latvian National Opera & Ballet

  Aspazijas bulvāris 3      (+371) 67 07 37 77     04 Jan 2019
This spectacular edifice sandwiched between Old Riga and the Riga canal was erected in 1863, but was largely destroyed by a gas leak, which resulted in a devastating fire in 1882. Thankfully, the building was restored to architect Ludwig Bohnstedt’s original design and reopened five years later, but this time with a state-of-the-art technology called electricity. The new opera included the city’s very first electric power station, whose tall smoke stack is still visible today. The building and its unmistakable ionic columns were completely refurbished once again in the early 1990s and a new annex with 300 seats was added in 2001. You can take a public tour of the building in English once a month for €8 (see website for exact dates) or arrange a 45-minute group tour (minimum 10 people) at tel. (+371) 25 63 58 33 or education@opera.lv, but we recommend you simply take in a world-class ballet or opera performance here to fully experience its magnificence. The opera is also surrounded by beautiful gardens that include a fountain with a bronze statue.
  Show on map

Social Links:

Website

Events at this venue

Friday Feb 1 19:00–22:00
The Three Musketeers
Friday Mar 15 19:00–22:00
Swan Lake
Monday Mar 11 19:00–21:00
Igor Moiseyev State Academic Ensemble of Popular Dance
Saturday Feb 23 15:00–17:00
From Solo to Quartet
Friday Mar 8 18:30–20:30
Tenor Trio. Arrivederci Roma
Friday Mar 1 18:30–20:30
Cantando Y Amando
Sunday Feb 17 15:00–17:00
St. Petersburg in Winter
Tuesday Mar 19 19:00–22:00
The Ballet's Grand Century
Thursday Feb 21 19:00–22:00 …
L’incantesimo. Pagliacci
Wednesday Mar 27 19:00–22:00
La Bayadère
Saturday Mar 9 19:00–22:00
Raymonda
Sunday Mar 3 12:00–14:00, 18:00–20:00
Karlsson Flies...
Sunday Feb 24 12:00–14:00, 15:00–17:00 …
The Little Magic Flute
Saturday Feb 16 15:00–17:00 …
The Sound of Music
Sunday Feb 10 12:00–15:00, 18:00–21:00 …
The Blue Danube
Friday Feb 8 19:00–22:00
Le Corsaire
Thursday Feb 7 19:00–22:00 …
Die Fledermaus (The Bat)
Wednesday Feb 6 19:00–22:00 …
Sleeping Beauty
Sunday Feb 3 15:00–18:00 …
Antonija #Silmači
Saturday Feb 2 12:00–14:00, 18:00–20:00
The Birds' Opera
Thursday Mar 28 19:00–22:00
The Rake's Progress
Tuesday Feb 26 19:00–22:00
Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs
Thursday Mar 7 19:00–22:00
Scheherezade and Her Tales
Sunday Feb 24 19:00–22:00 …
Peer Gynt
Saturday Jan 26 19:00–22:00 …
Don Quixote
Saturday Mar 2 19:00–22:00
Turandot
Thursday Feb 28 19:00–22:00 …
The Flying Dutchman
Saturday Feb 9 19:00–22:00 …
La Traviata
Saturday Mar 16 19:00–22:00
La Bohème
Friday Feb 1 19:00–22:00 …
Eugene Onegin
Thursday Jan 31 19:00–22:00
Bolero
Thursday Jan 24 19:00–22:00
Romeo and Juliet
Wednesday Jan 30 19:00–22:00 …
Don Pasquale
Sunday Jan 27 15:00–18:00 …
Nabucco
Friday Jan 25 19:00–22:00 …
Madame Butterfly

Comments

Connect via social media
Leave a comment using your email This e-mail address is not valid
Please enter your name*

Please share your location

Enter your message*
Put our app in your pocket
Top
City Essentials

Download our new City Essentials app

download 4.5