Riga

Sightseeing

Riga Cathedral (Doma baznīca)

The largest place of worship in the Baltics, measuring 187 x 43m, with walls two metres thick, Riga Cathedral also has one of the biggest organs in Europe (6,768 pipes!). It was such a marvel in its day that Franz Liszt composed a piece of music in its honour. The drop from Cathedral Square (Doma laukums) to the church's base shows how the level of the city has risen in the 800 years since its foundations were laid on the site of a Livonian fishing village. Although currently undergoing renovations, it’s still open to the public. Opening hours for the upcoming week are listed next to the entrance. The price of the ticket also includes access to its Romanesque cloister, but bear in mind that opening times can be erratic during the summer months and short, hour-long closures in the middle of the day are not unheard of.

Map

Amenities

Credit Cards

Website

Open

Open 09:00-17:00.

Price/Additional Info

Admission: €3.

Events at this venue

Friday Dec 2 2016O Lux Beata Friday Dec 9 2016Angelus Domini Saturday Dec 10 2016Stile Antico vocal ensemble Sunday Dec 11 2016St. Lucia's Day concert. Inese Galante Wednesday Dec 14 2016Holiday Letters. Kristīne Zadovska Friday Dec 16 2016Organ Music & Gregorian Chants Saturday Dec 17 2016Christmas Prelude with Inese Galante Sunday Dec 18 2016Händel at Christmas Wednesday Dec 21 2016Atomos Saxophone Quartet Sunday Dec 25 2016European Christmas. Sergejs Jēgers Friday Dec 30 2016Kaleidescope of New Year Moods Saturday Dec 31 2016With Organ Sounds the Year Bids Farewell Sunday Jan 1 2017Festive Sounds New Year's organ music concert Wednesday Jan 4 2017Ligita Sneibe Friday Jan 6 2017Religious Music for the Epiphany Saturday Jan 7 2017Paolo Baccianella Sunday Jan 8 2017Ave Maria. Inga Šļubovska-Kancēviča Wednesday Jan 11 2017Pravoslavniye Pevchiye

Comments

Connect via social media
Leave a comment using your email
Please enter your name*

Please share your location

Enter your message*
Take your guide with you download a pdf or order a printed issue
browse through our pdf library
Put our app in your pocket
Top
City Essentials

Download our new City Essentials app

download 4.5