Riga

Riga Cathedral

  Doma laukums      (+371) 67 21 32 13     20 Sep 2018
The largest place of worship in the Baltics, measuring 187 x 43m, with walls two metres thick, Riga Cathedral also has one of the biggest organs in Europe (6,718 pipes!). It was such a marvel in its day that Franz Liszt composed a piece of music in its honour. The drop from Cathedral Square (Doma laukums) to the church's base shows how the level of the city has risen in the eight centuries since its foundations were laid on the site of a Livonian fishing village in 1211. Although currently undergoing renovations, it’s still open to the public. The price of the ticket also includes access to its Romanesque cloister.

Amenities

Credit Cards

Website

Open

Open 10:00-17:00.

Price/Additional Info

Admission: €3.

Events at this venue

Sunday May 26 19:00–20:30
Laudate Dominum. Olga Pyatigorska
Saturday May 11 19:00–20:30 …
Ave Maria. Olga Pyatigorskaya
Friday Apr 26 19:00–20:30
With Jubilant Sounds organ music concert
Wednesday Apr 24 19:00–20:30
Soli Deo Gloria. Larisa Carjkova
Sunday Apr 21 19:00–20:30
Cum Jubilo Easter concert. Gaudeamus RTU Men's Choir
Friday Apr 19 20:00–21:30
Good Friday concert. Stabat Mater
Wednesday Apr 17 19:00–20:30
Stabat Mater. Tiara RDKS Girls' Choir
Friday Apr 12 19:00–20:30
Edouard Oganessian
Wednesday Apr 10 19:00–20:30
Mozart's Requiem
Friday Apr 5 19:00–20:30
Bach organ concert
Wednesday Apr 3 19:00–20:30
Bach and the Latvians

Comments

Connect via social media
Leave a comment using your email This e-mail address is not valid
Please enter your name*

Please share your location

Enter your message*
Put our app in your pocket
Top
City Essentials

Download our new City Essentials app

download 4.5