Menshikov commissioned architects Giovanni Maria Fontana and Gottfried Schädel to build his residence from 1710 to 1727. The central part of the Palace is connected by two galleries with two domed Japanese and Church Pavilions. Facing the sea, with a two-level terrace in front of it, this charming yellow and white building consists of a concave central block with two single-storey galleries leading to prominent octagonal pavilions, one of which houses the palace chapel. The Palace is located near the Lower Park, whose composite axis is a channel leading to the sea. This channel is an imitation of one designed by Peter himself at his nearby residence of Peterhof Palace.