Rising up along the banks of the Pirita River, the spectacular ruins of this 15th-century convent make one of Tallinn's more fascinating historic sights. Founded in 1407 by the Bridgetine Order, the convent was unique in that it housed both monks and nuns. The convent crumbled in a siege by Ivan the Terrible in 1577 and its stones were later carted off to construction projects throughout Tallinn. What remains today are the towering Gothic gable and walls of the main hall, as well as some surrounding foundations and cellars. Take bus N°1, 8, 34A or 38 from Viru väljak to the Pirita stop.