Established in 1579 and one of the oldest universities in Eastern Europe, the splendid ensemble that makes up Vilnius University’s main campus buildings embraces just about every major architectural style of the last 400 years. Originally belonging to the Catholic Church, the university became a secular seat of learning in 1773 and has remained so ever since. Closed for much of the 19th and the first 18 years of the 20th century, famous students who studied here include the Polish Romantic poets Adam Mickiewicz and Juliusz Słowacki, Lithuanian writer and historian Simonas Daukantas and Lithuanian-born Nobel-winning author Czesław Miłosz. As well as housing the oldest library in the country, VU is also famed for its lovely courtyards, of which there are either 12 or 13 depending on your definition of a courtyard. The university claims 13, but one of them only has three walls, the fourth one destroyed when the neighbouring Presidential Palace was built. Fully restored in 1979, it's all well worth investigating. A map can be found at Universiteto 7 explaining where everything is. Don't forget to see the stunning and often humorous 20th-century murals (ask someone where to find them) and the Littera bookshop.
Show on map
Facilities for disabled
City centre location
Open 09:00 - 18:00. Closed Sun.
November 1 - February 30 Open 09:30 - 17:30.