In the aftermath of WWII Amsterdam was in desperate need of new housing. By 1951 work began on the garden suburb of Tuinstad Slotermeer, the first of five new neighbourhoods that were added to the west end of the city. Today, Slotermeer, Geuzenveld, Slotervaart, Overtoomse Veld and Osdorp comprise the urban district of Nieuw-West. A spacious design with plenty of greenery is characteristic of these new neighbourhoods, which all surround the peaceful waters of the Sloterplas lake.
This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here. AGREE