Plovdiv

Ancient Theatre

  ul. Tsar Ivaylo     03 Apr 2019
Plovdiv's ancient Roman Theatre is a sight to behold. Approaching it from one of the narrow cobbled streets of the Old Town, what strikes you first as you step onto TaksimTepe (hill) is the uninterrupted view of the city below you and the Rhodope mountains in the distance. What strikes you second is the stunningly intact theatre falling away in front of you, its rows of seats staggering down the hillside and pieces of the far wall broken off, as if the columns had just fallen backwards off the hill. You can go inside and walk around for a modest fee, though beware that the steps are steep, many of them are worn away and there are very few handrails. It is possible, though, to pick out the new steps among them and carefully work your way down to the stage - now wooden - which hosts concerts and opera performances in the summer months.

The silence is astounding, giving you every opportunity to dwell on what this place must have meant to the ancient peoples who came to watch theatrical performances here. Built in 1st century AD, the theatre can seat 7000. Damaged during an invasion by Attila the Hun, and covered by centuries of buildings, it was only rediscovered and excavated in 1972 when construction on the tunnel below began.

A recently found and deciphered inscription on a monumental pedestal reveals that the theatre was constructed at the end of the Ist century A.D., when Philippololis was under the rule of Titus Flavius Cotis – an heir of a Thracian Royal Dynasty, the high priest of the Thracian province, representative of the Metropolitan Court of Justice.

An outdoor cafe has tables running along the fence on the street above, giving you a great excuse to have a break and gaze upon the magnificent view.

Open

Open 09:00-18:00.

Price/Additional Info

Adults 5 leva. FREE with Plovdiv City Card

Events at this venue

Saturday May 18 19:00 …
ACCEPT and the Orchestra of Death
Monday Jun 17 21:00
Bulgaria - Blessed Land
Saturday Jun 1 20:00
Western Balkans Band BG.
Friday Jun 28 21:00
Medea
Sunday Jun 30 19:00–00:00
Dead Can Dance
Monday Jun 24 20:00
Tom Jones in Concert
Saturday May 25
Music Lab For Human
Friday May 3 20:00
From Spain to Argentina
Friday Jun 21 21:00–23:00
The Power of Faith
Saturday Jun 15 21:00–23:00
Orpheus
Tuesday Sep 17 20:00–22:00
Lili Ivanova
Jun 8 - Jul 29 2019
Opera Open 2019
Friday Jul 5 - Saturday Jul 6
Puldin Etno Fest
Monday Sep 9 - Sunday Sep 15
Mood for Food 2019

Comments

Connect via social media
google sign in button
Leave a comment using your email This e-mail address is not valid
Please enter your name*

Please share your location

Enter your message*
Put our app in your pocket
This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here. AGREE
Top