Plovdiv

Ancient Theatre

  ul. Tsar Ivaylo     03 Apr 2019
Plovdiv's ancient Roman Theatre is a sight to behold. Approaching it from one of the narrow cobbled streets of the Old Town, what strikes you first as you step onto TaksimTepe (hill) is the uninterrupted view of the city below you and the Rhodope mountains in the distance. What strikes you second is the stunningly intact theatre falling away in front of you, its rows of seats staggering down the hillside and pieces of the far wall broken off, as if the columns had just fallen backwards off the hill. You can go inside and walk around for a modest fee, though beware that the steps are steep, many of them are worn away and there are very few handrails. It is possible, though, to pick out the new steps among them and carefully work your way down to the stage - now wooden - which hosts concerts and opera performances in the summer months.

The silence is astounding, giving you every opportunity to dwell on what this place must have meant to the ancient peoples who came to watch theatrical performances here. Built in 1st century AD, the theatre can seat 7000. Damaged during an invasion by Attila the Hun, and covered by centuries of buildings, it was only rediscovered and excavated in 1972 when construction on the tunnel below began.

A recently found and deciphered inscription on a monumental pedestal reveals that the theatre was constructed at the end of the Ist century A.D., when Philippololis was under the rule of Titus Flavius Cotis – an heir of a Thracian Royal Dynasty, the high priest of the Thracian province, representative of the Metropolitan Court of Justice.

An outdoor cafe has tables running along the fence on the street above, giving you a great excuse to have a break and gaze upon the magnificent view.

Open

Open 09:00-18:00.

Price/Additional Info

Adults 5 leva. FREE with Plovdiv City Card

Events at this venue

Saturday Sep 7 20:30
Rock the Opera
Monday Sep 2 20:30–23:30
Ladies of Jazz
Tuesday Sep 10 20:00
Mama Mia!
Tuesday Sep 17 20:00–22:00
Lili Ivanova
Friday Aug 30 20:00
Aida
Tuesday Aug 27 20:30
International Ballet Gala
Wednesday Aug 21 20:30
Rigoletto, Verdi
Saturday Aug 24 20:30
Orpheus and Eurydice
Friday Jul 26 21:00
Otello
Saturday Jul 20 21:00
Swan Lake
Tuesday Jul 16 21:00–23:00
JAZZ Symphony: Liz Wright (USA)
Sunday Sep 1 20:30
Stefan Valdobrev and the Usual Suspects
Saturday Jul 27 18:30 …
Balabanov House Music Days
Thursday Sep 26 - Sunday Sep 29
Noh Theatre with European Spirit
Monday Sep 9 - Sunday Sep 15
Mood for Food 2019
21:00–23:00
Opera Open 2019

Comments

Connect via social media
google sign in button
Leave a comment using your email This e-mail address is not valid
Please enter your name*

Please share your location

Enter your message*
Put our app in your pocket
This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here. AGREE
Top