The centrepiece of Jarosław's Market Square is its beautiful Town Hall, dating from the last quarter of the 15th century. After fires gutted it in 1625 it was rebuilt in the style of the late Renaissance. Under the Town Hall, as under other buildings in the Market Square, there are multi-storey cellars. In 1782, Austrians occupied the building and utilised it as military workshop, demolishing two floors in the process. In 1850, the building was again reconstructed in the style of the English Gothic Revival. At the end of the 19th century, the building was renovated and took on its present-day Neo-Renaissance appearance, and remains the perfect centrepeice for the Market Square.
The market is lined with Renaissance-era townhouses, the most outstanding among them being the magnificent arcaded Orsetti tenement at Rynek 4, which offers visitors the opportunity to go underground and explore the market square's subterranean levels. A handy tourist information centre can also be found on Jarosław's Rynek, as well as a multimedia fountain and medieval well.
On a more macabre note, a shocking discovery was made here in 1967 when crews resurfacing the market square found a circular pit 1.5m below the current surface covered over with wooden planks and filled with human skulls. The lack of other remains (just heads) lead experts to conclude that this was a disposal site for medieval executions carried out nearby. The skulls filled two trucks and were transported to the New Cemetery, where they were placed in a mass grave marked with gray granite cubes. Creepy.