Picturesque ul. Długa is one of the city's oldest thoroughfares. From the Golden Gate which protects it, the gently-curving street opens into an array of colourful burgher houses, rococo portals, gothic mouldings and original porticoes. The house numbers run in opposite directions on either side, a feature typical of old Gdańsk streets. N° 12 houses a Museum of Burgher Interiors. N° 71 is one of the few structures on the street to survive World War II and still bears original mouldings from the second half of the 15th century. N° 28 is Dom Ferberów (Ferber's House), dating to 1560, with magnificent sculptures and the three familiar coats of arms. N° 29 has an interesting crew of Roman emperors peering from its baroque façade. King Władysław IV entertained local dignitaries at Lwi Zamek (The Lion's Castle) at N° 35; two lions guard its portal. The house neighbouring it dates to 1563 and is a splendid example of the influence of the Dutch renaissance on Gdańsk architecture. The renaissance house at N° 45 belonged to the Schumann family and is sometimes called the House of the Polish Kings (Dom Królów Polskich); figures of Greek gods stud its alcoves. The eastern end of the street is dominated by the tall, slim tower of the Town Hall.