This unique octagonal chapel is one of only three wooden temples left in Kraków. Originally built as a cemetery chapel, throughout its long history it was burned many times (wonder how that happened?) with its present structure having been built in 1690. In ironic, yet typical, contrast to the pre-Slavic pagan god of the wind named ‘Poświst’ who once stood at this site, today you’ll find a statue of Pope John Paul II erected in 2008. The Baroque 17th century altar within the charming chapel was borrowed from the Church of the Holy Saviour just across the street. Unfortunately opportunities to enter are rare.
Open during mass only, from May to October on the first and third Sunday of each month at 11:15. Otherwise closed.
Church of the Holy Saviour
ul. Św. Bronisławy 9
One of Kraków’s oldest and most modestly beautiful churches, the Church of the Holy Saviour stands atop an early Slavic temple. In fact, archaeologists have dated this site as far back as the 10th century and some have even posited that it may be the
ul. Kościuszki 88