Split

City Basics

City Basics

Population:
Croatia
(April 2011): 4,290,612
Split County: (April 2011): 455,242
Split (April 2011): 178,192
Territory: Croatia’s land territory takes up 56,542km2. It borders with Hungary, Slovenia, Serbia, Montenegro, Bosnia-Herzegovina and there is a sea-border with Italy.
Dalmatian coast: The coast is the main tourist attraction for good reason - the crystal clear waters are some of the most beautiful on the planet and were just named some of its most pure!
Islands: An amazing 1,246 islands lie off the Croatian coast, 47 of them inhabited.
Climate: Mediterranean
Local time: Croatia is part of the Central European Time Zone (GMT+1): when it is noon in Split it is 12:00 in Berlin, 11:00 in London, 06:00 in New York, 14:00 in Moscow, and 21:00 in Sydney.

Customs

As Croatia entered the EU on July 1, 2013 there are no longer custom limits between member states or tax return. For other non-member states we recommend you to follow info at www.porezna-uprava.hr.

Disabled travellers

Raising awareness for the disabled is beginning to take shape and some improvements can be seen, but there is still a loooong way to go. At the moment, all public car parks have parking spots for disabled, most hotels have at least one room adapted for their needs, and shopping centres have suitable access with facilitated toilets, as do new buildings.

Take your guide with you download a pdf or order a printed issue
browse through our pdf library